Where Are the Bees?

I can tell you right now that there is a serious lack of interest in tomato flowers from the bees in my area. I suspect that they are off gathering pollen from the loads of wildflowers and cactii.

The early rains this year have produced an abundance of flowers on the desert plant life. That’s pretty rare. All kinds of things are in bloom, that we almost never see flower. Reds, purples, yellows, oranges – you name it. That means two things to me. One, I got some excellent, deep, dark, rich, desert honey at a great price. Two, my little container gardening experiment is being totally ignored by bees. So, I am shaking, flicking and brushing the flowers myself starting this week in order to pollinate the flowers so that I can get fruit to set before the temperatures skyrocket.

The Green Zebra actually has two tomatoes just starting on it now – so there is hope. We’ll see how it goes.

If you are interested in some desert honey (or other hard to find honey) check out the Honey Locator to find some.

Leave a Reply

